UHealth - University of Miami Health System

Philip McCabe

General Information

Philip  McCabe


  • .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)


  • English


  • Professor and Chairman Department of Psychology


Research Interests

Neural and behavioral factors in atherosclerosis; Autonomic nervous system and neuropeptide influence on inflammation ; Neurobiology of emotional behavior.


President, Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign



-Professor and Chairman, Department of Psychology

-Ph.D., Neuroscience, University of Ilinois at Urbana-Champaign

My research examines the neurobiology of emotional behavior, and the impact of social-emotional behavior on the development of cardiovascular disease.  More specifically, this research program examines the influence of social environment on neural and hormonal mechanisms in the progression of atherosclerosis in animal models of dyslipidemia, insulin resistance, and cardiovascular disease, more recently focusing on the role of neural and peptide regulation of inflammation.   For this work I actively collaborate with Drs. Neil Schneiderman, Maria Llabre and Angela Szeto in the Department of Psychology,  Drs. Armando Mendez and Ronald Goldberg at the Diabetes Research Institute, and Dr. Julia Zaias in the Division of Comparative Pathology and the Division of Veterinary Resources. 

I am a Professor and Chairman of the Psychology Department at UM, and the former Director of the UM Undergraduate Neuroscience Program, which I helped to create in 2001.  I received my Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in Neuroscience, which was followed by an NHLBI postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Miami.  In the early part of his career, my research focused on the neurobiological mechanisms underlying learned emotional responses (i.e., fear conditioning).  My research has been supported continuously for the past 30 years by grants from NHLBI, NINDS and NSF.     I was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research (ABMR) in 1990, and was elected President of ABMR in 2010.